Saturday, 26 January 2013

Review: Mystic City by Theo Lawrence

Date Read: January 26th, 2013
Date Published: October 11th, 2012
Publishers: Corgi

Format: Paperback
Pages: 397
For fans of Matched, The Hunger Games, X-Men, and Blade Runner comes a tale of a magical city divided, a political rebellion ignited, and a love that was meant to last forever. Book One of the Mystic City Novels.
Aria Rose, youngest scion of one of Mystic City's two ruling rival families, finds herself betrothed to Thomas Foster, the son of her parents' sworn enemies. The union of the two will end the generations-long political feud—and unite all those living in the Aeries, the privileged upper reaches of the city, against the banished mystics who dwell below in the Depths. But Aria doesn't remember falling in love with Thomas; in fact, she wakes one day with huge gaps in her memory. And she can't conceive why her parents would have agreed to unite with the Fosters in the first place. Only when Aria meets Hunter, a gorgeous rebel mystic from the Depths, does she start to have glimmers of recollection—and to understand that he holds the key to unlocking her past. The choices she makes can save or doom the city—including herself.

I really liked this book. It was definitely different and not like any I'd read before. I got into it right from the beginning and it kept me up until the early hours of the morning.

Aria lives in the Aeries above Manhattan which is flooded due to global warming. She has a great life and is to be married to Thomas, the son of her opposing family. The two families hope that their union will unite the two. Except Aria can't remember ever falling in love with Thomas and she doesn't quite believe the things that are being said to her. But when a Mystic shows up, beings with strange powers that live in the depths, she begins to realize that not everything is what it seems.

Right from the start I connected with Aria and who she was as a character. She was strong, both in mind and determination and she was different to her parents. I love characters that go against what's set out for them. If I had her parents I don't think I'd have the courage to stand up to them. They were scary at times, especially her dad.

Hunter, our beloved Mystic is oh-so-nice! I'd love to have a book from his point of view, even if it's just a novella, a prequel, because he is an interesting character. He'll do anything for Aria and it's sweet how connected they are. On the other hand we have Thomas who does have his moments but I don't want to give away too much.

I kind of guessed how the story would go but there were still some shocks in store for me. After the first 100 pages it really gets going and I found it hard to put it down. That's when you know a book is good. That you risk looking like a zombie for the rest of the day after a sleepless night.

Overall a great read that I would recommend to those who like the mystical and unique side to YA.


Post a Comment